About TVET Council

Find out more about TVET Council’s role, activities, staff and members.

Council Members

The members of the TVET Council are:


Dr. Albert Best

Chairman – TVET Council
Dr. Wayne Charles-Soverall
Deputy Chairman – TVET Council


Name Title

Ms. Annette A. Alleyne

Barbados Community College representative

Mr. Ian Drakes

Samuel Jackman Prescod Institute Of Technology representative

Mr. Henderson Thompson

Barbados Vocational Training Board - ex officio

Dr. Sonia Greenidge-Franklyn

Barbados Institute of Management and Productivity representative

Ms. Karen Best

Chief Education Officer - ex officio

Ms. Doreen Deane

Barbados Workers Union representative

Ms. Roslyn Smith

National Union of Public Workers’ representative

Mrs. Sheena Mayers-Granville

Barbados Employers Confederation representative

Ms. Shardae Boyce

Barbados Manufacturers' Association representative

Senator Rudy Grant

Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association representative

Mr. Henderson Eastmond

Executive Director, TVET Council

Mr. Alyson Forte

Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Labour and Social Partnership Relations - ex officio

 Ms. Janet Phillips  

Ministry of Education, Technological and Vocational Training - ex officio