Latest News

Stay up-to-date on the latest news and happenings within the TVET system using the links below.

Sarah and Coral Ann take TVETC's top Staff Awards for 2018

TVET Council's Christmas Luncheon & Awards 2018

12/17/2018 07:10 AM
TVET Council Barbados Latest News
Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Technological and Vocational Training, Dr. Rommel Springer presents the STAR Award to Research Officer Sarah Gilkes-Daniel

The TVET Council's Christmas Luncheon & Staff Awards took place on Friday, December 14, 2018.

Council Members, management and staff joined with specially invited guests to acknowledge the hard work put in by employees during the year and to celebrate the well-earned retirement of former Senior Accountant Michelle Haynes who worked with the Council from August 4, 1998 to July 31, 2018 and former Council Members - Chairman Dr. Hensley Sobers who served from 2008 to 2018, and, Deputy Chairman Millicent Small who served from 2010 to 2018.

During his welcome remarks the new Chairman Dr. Albert Best noted that though he had been at the Council only a short while he was satisfied with the organisation’s work programme, the passion and leadership of the Executive Director and the leadership abilities of his fellow Council Members.

Parliamentary Secretary Dr. Rommel Springer, who delivered remarks on behalf of the Minister of Education, Technological and Vocational Training Santia Bradshaw, said that the TVET Council was a new and welcome addition to the Ministry of Education.

“The Ministry has been working closely with the TVET Council for years (and) greatly appreciates the work ethic and the mission of the Council.” He added that the Ministry was particularly looking forward to the completion of work on the new National TVET Policy which was expected to cement the relationship between general education and Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET).

During the Staff Awards segment, Research Officer Sarah Gilkes-Daniel took home the STAR Award, which stands for Service, Teamwork, Attitude and Reliability, and, Clerk Typist Coral Ann Callender won the Unsung Hero Award given to the individual who quietly and consistently goes above and beyond “the call of duty”. Both awards are voted on by the organisation’s staff members.

The full list of the 2018 awardees is as follows:

Excellent Attendance

  • Matthew Greaves
  • Antoinette Lashley
  • Dario Walcott

Perfect Attendance

  • Gale Alleyne
  • Daniel Best
  • Rosline Cumberbatch
  • Felix Delice
  • Wendy McClean
  • Constance Prescott
  • Shirleen Inniss

Long Service Awards

  • Rosline Cumberbatch – 10 years
  • Carol Ann Burke – 10 years
  • Samantha Jones – 15 years
  • Wendy McClean - 20 years

The Executive Director’s Teamwork Awards

The WorldSkills Barbados Committee:

  • Dario Walcott – Lead Officer & Head of the Local Organising Committee
  • Rosline Cumberbatch – Deputy Lead Officer & Head of the Technical Committee
  • Samantha Jones – Head of the PR/Communication Committee
  • Peter Alleyne – Head of Logistics
  • Sarah Gilkes-Daniel – Head of the Finance Committee
  • Shirleen Inniss – Head of the Secretariat
  • Maria Price-Trotman – Head of Volunteers
  • Marika Byer/Coral Ann Callender – Competitors Developmental Programme 

Stepping Up to the Plate – Awarded to individuals who went ‘above and beyond’ to assist with the WorldSkills Barbados Competition

  • Tashan Trotman
  • Nicole Holder
  • Justin Layne 

Unsung Hero Award

  • Coral Ann Callender

STAR Award

  • Sarah Gilkes-Daniel

(PR/TVET Council Barbados)